CEO - Lafayette General Medical Center
Patrick W. Gandy, Jr.

Chief Operating Officer
Court LeMaistre, FACHE

Vice President / Chief Nursing Officer
Becki Benoit

Chief of Staff
Dennis Eschete, Jr., M.D.

Administrative Team

The LGMC vision is to be a premiere teaching facility and the hospital of choice for patients, physicians and employees. The executive leadership of Lafayette General Health runs the day-to-day operations of the health system, while each facility is managed by their own leadership team. Contact the administration office at (337) 289-7374 with any questions. 

Growth Through Leadership

Lafayette General Medical Center (LGMC) enjoyed a landmark fiscal year 2014 with the completion of the hospital’s $52.5 million Emergency Department and Operating Room expansion and renovation project ($48.5 million for building and professional fees, and $4 million for new equipment and technology). The expansion, which also added a new trauma elevator and 343-space parking garage, increased emergency bed capacity from 31 beds to 45 and features 13 state-of-the-art operating rooms. The hospital cafeteria began renovation at the end of May and reopened just after the fiscal year concluded.

Beyond construction, other milestones included LGMC opening the first Lung Mass Clinic in Acadiana. The hospital also expanded its certified orthopedic services by bringing in more orthopedic surgeons and becoming the first to offer a new robot-assisted knee/hip replacement procedure known as MAKOplasty®. LGMC also graduated its inaugural class of graduate medical residents and expanded its research department to bring in more clinical trials.

LGMC continues to develop its efficiency and specialized services to be the go-to destination that other LGH hospitals rely upon for high-level cases and treatments. In this way, LGMC steadily anchors the LGH system and enhances care in the community by being the strongest leader in the market.

Board of Trustees 

Seated (l-r): John Schutte, M.D., Mandi Mitchell, Braden Despot (Secretary); Edward J. Krampe (Vice Chairman),
Clay M. Allen (Chairman); Flo Meadows (Treasurer), David L. Callecod, FACHE (LGH President), Joe Zanco

Standing (l-r): Philip Gachassin, M.D., Brad Broussard, M.D., David T. Calhoun, Gary Salmon, David Wilson, 
William Fenstermaker (Past Chairman); Samuel Shuffler, M.D., Martin Bech, Bob Giles, Benjamin Doga, M.D.,
Joby John, Ph.D., Julie Falgout  

Not Pictured: Bradley J. Chastant, M.D. and Juan Perez-Ruiz, M.D. (Chief of Staff)